Ilya is the site for your sex toys

IMG_1111

Looking of sex toys for more fun with your partner? Many years ago, there was a shop in Robinsons Galleria over at Ortigas Center that sold sex toys. The shop was Joke Box and it had belonged to the comedian Gary Lising. Sadly it no longer exists.

The good news is that there is an online shop called Ilya.

I learned about the shop from Mia. She had wanted to try out sex toys. It’s nice that Ilya has an online catalog and their merchandise is extensive. They have dildos, cock rings, kegels, massage oils, even “50 shades” themed paraphernalia. You can order online, pay via Visa or MasterCard, and they’ll deliver the item right to your doorstep. It’s our local Amazon online shop for sex toys!

The website treats sex toys as fun, functional, intimate, and exciting.  Ilya succeeded in promoting the idea of “sexual health and intimacy by creating a shop that is far from being lewd, a shop that does not feel like a shameful secret.” The marketplace is highly searchable, with categories for his and her and couples, and sub-items like masturbators, dildos, vibrators, plugs, restraints. Clicking on the individual items reveal images and detailed descriptions.  Customers have an opportunity to leave ratings and reviews, but sadly, unlike what you see in Amazon, there aren’t many reviews.

Searching through their catalog, Mia and I agreed on a vibrator labelled Iroha Minamo. The website characterized it as “an elegant reflection of the moon on rippling waters” and described it as soft, slightly bendable, and water-proof. This appealed to Mia. It was also one of the rare items that had a customer review. The website also presented sample images and Mia was not intimidated by its appearance. It is pretty much your standard vibrator.  I will probably describe our experience with the item in a later post.

Ilya promised safe and discreet delivery. The toy will be placed inside a courier bag and then packed inside a plain brown, inconspicuously labelled, corrugated box. Despite those assurances, I wanted to get the product myself.  I wasn’t worried if they recognize me.  Security, however, is a major concern in our building so I wasn’t sure if they will scan and open the package, it being unmarked. So I contacted them via their “Contact Us” page and asked if they had a shop where I could see the product and purchase it over-the-counter.

Within a few hours I received an email reply from AJ and Arvin, the team behind Ilya. No physical store yet, they said, but they do meet-ups. I could visit their office (maybe I will one of these days) but the items are sealed and could not be opened as a matter of policy. That makes sense. Hygiene is essential for sex toys and one would doubt cleanliness if a box is unsealed. We exchanged mobile numbers and agreed on a time and place.

AJ arrived promptly with a shopping bag that contained the Iroha Minamo. He was a young, fair-skinned man with a boyish and friendly face and a build that shows he works out. We shook hands and exchanged pleasantries. He struck me as a lively and energetic man and with the way he talked, I could sense his passion and pride for his company. I had wished I could stay longer and chat about Ilya but I had to attend to other errands.

All in all I was delighted with the entire experience of dealing with Ilya. They know their stuff and they take privacy and discretion very seriously. Their website is hardly intimidating and it conveys a sense of fun and playfulness. If you are in the market for sex toys, then visit their website, chose a product, and contact them. No shame, no embarassement, and all satisfaction!

Leave a comment